Unreal Ops Forum Index

Home FAQ Memberlist

View next topic
View previous topic
 Unreal Ops Forum Index » Unreal Mapping
CraftyBarnardo
UO Noob

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 8:15 pm

Hello everyone, this is a pretty cool place.

I have experience mapping for the Half-Life mods using Worldcraft/Hammer. I started playing around with the Unreal editor today since I bought UT2K4 two days ago.

The reason for this post is to find out if anyone has the default map units taken up by certain entities, etc. For example, in Hammer, the player is exactly 64 map units high. Can anyone tell me how tall the player is in the UT world? Also, it would be helpful to know the max number of units in height that a step/wall/whatever can be before the player has to jump to get on it. Things of this nature would be helpful.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks for your time,
CB
Enock
UO Noob

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:41 am

Ok first thing off, if you bought the 2-disc version of 2004, then you need to copy all the VTMs (Video Tutorial Module) onto your computer. These are videos, with 2 guys walking you through the editor. They show you step by step and you see what they see. Also I'm not real sure about player height because some are taller than others. I do recall 32 in height is about where the player has to jump. The thing to do is, start making a test level and make a 8, 16, 32... stairs to see for yourself, because you can always go in between these numbers. It did mention in a VTM that 64 is just enough space to duck through, although some players heads will stick through the ceiling of it. So maybe 78, 84??? I do know that a 128 hallway is about the smallest you want to go, it will be tight and close quarters. A 256 hallway is breathable and a 512 is spacous. However the entire additive space of the editor is 65536 cubed to 131072 cubed. Which is actually bigger than the last editors space. Hope you enjoy using UnrealEd, its my pick for game developing.